• Container

  • If Grief Could Wait

  • In the Morning We'll Meet

  • Forever and Ever/In Spite of Ourselves 7″

  • Bass Trip

  • Still that Bird is Singing

  • The Journey to Mandoola

  • Come Up For Air

If Grief Could Wait - Giovanna Pessi, Susanna Wallumrød, Marco Ambrosini, Jane Achtman

ECM 2226 2011

Harpist Giovanna Pessi has previously been heard on ECM recordings with Christian Wallumrød and with Rolf Lislevand. On her first leader date for ECM she introduces a unique project of old and new songs in which 17th century pieces by Henry Purcell are interspersed with 20th century ballads of Leonard Cohen and Nick Drake and 21st century songs of Susanna Wallumrød, all rendered timeless by the ‘early music’ instrumentation and Susanna’s pure, understated vocal style.


01 The Plaint (Henry Purcell)
02 Who by Fire (Leonard Cohen)
03 If Grief Has Any Pow'r to Kill (Henry Purcell)
04 The Forester (Susanna K. Wallumrød)
05 A New Ground (Henry Purcell)
06 You Know Who I Am (Leonard Cohen)
07 Hangout (Susanna K .Wallumrød)
08 O Solitude (Henry Purcell)
09 Which Will (Nick Drake)
10 A New Scotch Tune (Henry Purcell)
11 Music For a While (Henry Purcell)
12 A New Scotch Tune, var (Henry Purcell)
13 An Evening Hymn (Henry Purcell)